Adventure, Travel

Familiar Faces in Hannover

On the evening of the 17th, Jien, one of my fellow exchange student from Malaysia, texted me. She said that she and a few of the other Malaysians are planning to come over to Hannover for a visit and invited me to come with. I gladly obliged considering that I’ve already been there a few times and could probably show them around Hannover. I was also really really excited to be able to meet them in real life as we do not have many chances to do so. We had a Skype session recently but I prefer to be able to meet someone face-to-face as it feels more legitimate and authentic.

So I set out to the Hannover Central Station in the morning, excited and anticipating a good time with a big grin on my face. I was restlessly waiting for them to arrive as I wanted to try to explore as much of Hannover as we could cause it is indeed a city worth visiting.  When they arrived, I went over to the bus station to fetch them. I was embraced by warm hugs from every single one of the exchange students. But I made a new friend, he was a Malaysian that is currently studying in Germany. The greetings felt especially heartwarming because there’s a sense of familiarity when I am with them. After that, we set out to explore Hannover.

We had no time to waste as they only had half a day left in Hannover. As there are beautiful churches placed in almost, if not all the cities in Germany, we decided to visit the main Lutheran Church in Hannover, Marktkirche. If you have read my previous post where I explored Hannover on my own, linked here, you would know that I’ve visited it before but I revisited it because I’m somewhat their “tour guide” for the day. Even though it was my second time there, the simplicity of the church still captivates me. Though not as flashy and colourful as the other churches I’ve seen, the historical value and the effort that people put in to preserve the church still gives it it’s pricelessness.

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-21 at 11.35.34.jpeg
After we came out from Marktkirche

But for the rest of the afternoon, we chilled outside the Lower Saxony State Museum which was coincidentally placed near the Rathaus (Town Hall). It was quite interesting as there was a group of art students which were sketching the Town Hall as their teacher was doing the same but we also realized that he was looking at Jien a lot. We soon found out that he was drawing Jien on his sketchbook with the museum as the background. It was pretty cool and he did a pretty okay job. After that, we just lied down on the grass and rested as they were travelling through the night and didn’t have much sleep. But Jien and I weren’t that tired so we decided to go explore a little more.

It was pretty cool as we walked past the town hall and I realized that I’ve only seen the facade of the town hall, I have not seen the back nor the interior of the building. Luckily we decided to walk around, if not I wouldn’t be able to fully witness the grandness of the town hall. So Jien and I were just walking around the town hall when we found a spot to take an amazing photo, the sunlight that was shining through the window shined upon the platform of the first floor. So we decided to call the rest of the people to come along as it was a pretty interesting place to visit. Unfortunately, the sun shifted after we came back so the pictures that were taken after weren’t as good as the ones we took before. But we also took some pretty “interesting” pictures and we had a good laugh after that.

After that, we had dinner and went to Maschsee to just chill and talk. It was something new for me as I’ve never experienced the nightlife of Hannover. But I think there was a show that was going to happen soon so there were lights set up on the front of the city hall and it was so beautiful at night. My phone camera couldn’t do it justice as it requires sufficient lighting to be able to take decent pictures. But it was still really pretty just to look at and see them test the lighting. As a host, I decided to stay over with them as they were taking the bus that leaves the next morning. I had an amazing time with them and I hope that we will be able to do it again soon.

tl;dr:
hungout with my friends from Malaysia and brought them around Hannover. Got to experience and see new things that I’ve never seen before.

That’s all I have for this post, thank you all for reading till the end. I hope you enjoyed and I hope that you all have a great week ahead, God bless.

Tschüss,
Jie.

 

Leave a Reply

