Milestone, Thoughts

100th

It has been 100 days since I’ve left home for a life-changing adventure. 100 days since I set foot on German ground. 100 Days since I’ve had my comfort zone all around me. 100 consecutive mornings I’ve waken up not being in my own bed. 99 nights not sleeping in my own room. This is where the day count hits triple digits, like how 3 months plus have just gone by in a blink of an eye.

A lot of things have occurred, both good and bad, but I’m grateful for every experience, big or small that I’ve experienced here. I met a lot of different people from different backgrounds, different cultures and I have to say that it is very eye opening to able to wear other people’s shoes for once. This whole exchange so far has been an exciting leap out of my comfort zone and I don’t regret it one bit.

Honestly, it didn’t feel like it has been 3 months since I left home. I didn’t even realize how long I’ve been here in Germany, away from family, friends and away from what I called home. I’m still holding up and going strong, I have to say I’m quite proud of myself. Sure, there were some moments where it felt like the world was against me and that I wanted to go back to Malaysia, but I’m glad that I carried on.

Even though people back in Malaysia said things like, “wouldn’t you be one year behind everyone in studies?” and so on, that didn’t waver my confidence that I was here for a reason and for a purpose, the reason why I continue to strive in Germany. With all the support that I have back home from my parents and my friends, I still stand strong. Also, the support group I have from the group of Malaysian exchange students that are here in Germany with me have been a big help as well because all of us get what each and every one of us are going through.

I know that things won’t be as easygoing as it was back home but I have to say I can’t wait. Because among those sufferings is where you have the most growth and also where you seem to appreciate people and things you have around you that others don’t. Sure, German is a difficult language. But if everything was easy,  would we be able to find satisfaction in conquering it? For example, climbing Mount Everest would be like walking over a road bump, and climbing to the peak wouldn’t be deemed as amazing. Yet because we acknowledge that it is an extremely difficult task, therefore we also acknowledge the proficiency it takes to be able to complete that task and we celebrate with those that complete it.

I can’t wait to see what God has in store for me in the near future. Plus, summer holidays are starting in a few days so I’ll be able to travel around Germany because of all the time I have! I’m pretty excited about that! That’s all for now, thank you all for reading my post, God bless!

Tschüss,
Jie.

Leave a Reply

