Travel

Hannover trippin’

Every foreign exchange student that goes on an exchange with AFS will be assigned a liaison person, LP for short. This person is supposedly your “best friend”. They’ll be something like a middleman between the student and AFS. Problems faced and the current situation that the student is facing will be told to the LP and the LP will convey the message to AFS. So they’ll be there to listen to your problems and also check up on you. The cool thing is, they’re an ex-exchange student! They have been on an exchange before, so they will understand pretty much everything that the student is going through. They’re obliged to meet up with the student once a month, and so the day came where I met my new LP near Hannover, and her name is Sandrine.

IMG_20170615_155746
Sandrine & I

But before Sandrine came into the picture, literally and figuratively, I had about an hour and a half to kill. So I decided to go take a walk around Hannover. But today wasn’t a great day for a walk as it was about 30°C, which is similar to the average temperatures in Malaysia, and it’s one of the things I don’t really miss about Malaysia. But I had a really fun time just walking around the city! I felt the need to be a bit more touristy, so I started taking a lot of pictures of anything that seemed interesting. Luckily, I remembered to bring my camera out so the quality of the pictures are slightly better! So here are some of the pictures I took:

Most of the places I visited has a lot of historical background to it. For example, the Aegidienkirche. It is one of the churches in the old city. It was destroyed in a 1943 air-raid on Hannover and today, it is left in ruins as a war memorial. It was really fun and exciting to travel ’round Hannover like that!

So back to the point, I met up with Sandrine and we were walking around the city just chilling and chatting up about our lives, mostly about mine but oh wells. I’m not sure whether to be proud or ashamed, but today was my first time having a full-on German conversation. Sure, there were some times were I had to use English because my German vocabulary wasn’t sufficient. But all in all, I was pretty proud of myself considering how I understood most of what we talked about and it motivated me to continue improving my German so I can communicate fluently in the language. But then again, I have already been here for 3 months plus. We ended up walking and talking for about three hours and we both went our separate ways.

tl;dr:
Visited Hannover for the first time, discovered new and beautiful historic sites, met up with my LP, Sandrine and had a full-on German conversation which I’m proud of.

Thank you all for reading another one of my posts. If you do like it, be sure to follow my blog and also to check out my other posts! I hope you all have a great week ahead. God bless.

Btw, I promised a picture of my current host family, so here it is:

IMG_20170614_204834.jpg

Tschüss,
Jie.

Leave a Reply

